Lending & recovery

What are the RBI Key Fact Statement (KFS) requirements?

Last reviewed

Mandatory
Short answer

RBI requires banks, NBFCs and other regulated lenders to give borrowers a Key Fact Statement before signing any retail or MSME term loan. The KFS, in a standard format and a language the borrower understands, must show the all-inclusive annual percentage rate (APR), every fee and charge, the repayment schedule and grievance contacts. Charges not disclosed in the KFS cannot be levied without the borrower’s explicit consent.

The law this relies on

RBI circular on Key Facts Statement for Loans & Advances

Dated 15 April 2024 (effective 1 October 2024)

Mandatory KFS with APR and standard format for all retail and MSME term loans.

RBI Guidelines on Digital Lending, 2022 (and later directions)

KFS and cooling-off period

KFS, cooling-off/look-up period and disclosure duties for digital loans.

Reserve Bank – Integrated Ombudsman Scheme, 2021

Grievance redress

Escalation route for borrowers if the lender does not resolve a complaint.

Explained

Which loans need a KFS?

RBI’s circular of 15 April 2024 harmonised earlier KFS rules (which applied to digital loans, microfinance and some bank retail loans) and extended them to all retail and MSME term loans by all regulated entities, effective for loans sanctioned from 1 October 2024. Credit-card receivables are outside this framework because they are covered by separate card directions.

What must the KFS contain?

The KFS must follow RBI’s standard format and set out the loan amount, tenor, interest rate type, all fees and charges (including third-party charges collected by the lender), the annual percentage rate computed as an all-inclusive cost, an amortisation schedule, details of any recovery agents, the grievance-redressal officer and, for digital loans, the cooling-off or look-up period. It must be in a language the borrower understands.

How long is the KFS valid and who must acknowledge it?

The KFS carries a unique proposal number and must remain valid for a set period — at least three working days for loans with a tenor of seven days or more, and one working day for shorter loans — during which the borrower can accept, and the lender is bound by, the terms. The borrower’s acknowledgement of having understood the KFS is recorded, and the KFS summary is also included in the loan agreement.

What happens if a lender does not comply?

A lender cannot charge any fee or charge that was not mentioned in the KFS without the borrower’s explicit consent. Non-compliance is a regulatory breach that RBI can act on, and a borrower can complain to the lender and then under the Reserve Bank – Integrated Ombudsman Scheme, 2021. Lenders typically build the KFS into their loan-origination and e-sign workflows so it is generated and acknowledged before execution.

Frequently asked questions

Is a KFS mandatory for personal loans?

Yes. Since 1 October 2024, a KFS is mandatory for all retail term loans, including personal, vehicle and home loans, from banks, NBFCs and other RBI-regulated lenders.

What is APR in a Key Fact Statement?

The annual percentage rate is the annual cost of credit to the borrower, including interest and all other charges associated with the loan, so borrowers can compare offers.

Can a lender add charges not in the KFS?

Not without the borrower’s explicit consent. Fees and charges not disclosed in the KFS cannot otherwise be charged at any stage of the loan.

Do MSME loans need a KFS?

Yes. The 2024 circular covers MSME term loans as well as retail term loans.

This guide is general information about Indian law, not legal advice for a specific dispute, document or jurisdiction. Laws and rules change by notification; for a decision with legal or financial consequences, consult a qualified advocate.

Put this into practice

CaseDocker keeps contracts, signatures, stamp papers, notices and compliance deadlines in one place, with reminders before anything lapses.